1. Home
  2.   English
  3.   About us
  4. Phased supervision

Phased supervision

'Phased supervision' is the method by which the Inspectorate ensures efficient and effective enforcement of the legislation for which it is responsible. First, the inspectorate identifies where the greatest risks to the quality of care are to be seen. By means of inspection visits and/or enforcement action, it then prompts care providers to make the necessary improvements.

Phased supervision involves three phases


  • First phase: identification of risks based on an analysis of the quality information and any additional information about the care provider and the care services. This is in preparation for the second phase.
  • Second phase: inspection visits, assessment and selection of appropriate measures.
  • Third phase: imposition of administrative or disciplinary measures, or institution of criminal proceedings where appropriate.

In some sectors, such as residential care, the Inspectorate has considerable experience in this phased supervision approach. In others, the methodology is still in development.

In the majority of sectors, quality indicators are now defined and compiled by the Visible Care programme. In some sectors, such as hospitals, the Inspectorate collects its own quality information and/or defines the relevant quality criteria.

Phased supervision has not yet been applied to the safety and quality of medical products, since there are international agreements which prescribe a different approach.